Review: “Behind Her Eyes” by Sarah Pinborough

28965131

Title: “Behind Her Eyes”
Author: Sarah Pinborough
Genre: Thriller, suspense
Publication Date: Jan. 31, 2017 (Flatiron Books)

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Well dang, if I didn’t have a library copy, I’d wing this book across the room. It’s touted as the Thriller of 2017, and I don’t doubt it’ll be a best-seller, albeit a divisive one.

If you asked me what it was about 100 pages in, I’d have struggled to answer. Three-quarters of the way through, I decided I’d give it 5 of 5 stars because it’s certainly well-written and gripping. (Grip-lit, as they say.) But then. But then! That ending. Even if you haven’t read the book, you know it’s twisty because the marketers extraordinaire went with #wtfthatending, and lots of people are turning up on Twitter to use it. The catch-phrase splashed all over: “Read it before someone spoils the ending for you!”

Here’s the thing: I didn’t like it. I didn’t like it because I was reading a really weird but conceivably realistic psychological thriller, and then bam, they go and weave another genre in. They go and make it supernatural. I’m not worried about spoiling it by telling you that, because I promise, you will not predict how it ends.

If you’re like me, you’ll devour “Behind Her Eyes,” because it’s compulsively readable. But the preposterous ending made me feel some shades of cheated, and like I had wasted my time. A head’s up about the supernatural element and fine, I would have known what I was getting into and decided whether to proceed accordingly. But nada, and here I am, wanting to send the book with the “reeling ending” reeling itself.

Leave a Reply

